Artist Thumbnail


"This song kills me. Such delicate guitar plucking and everything executed at the right moment. There's a real tension here and intensity... I'm so impressed. Well done guys."
- Zan Rowe on 'Landslide' (Triple J, 19 Feb 2009)

Tall cousins Kishore Ryan (Otouto, Seagull, Where Were You at Lunch) and Kieran Ryan form the melted, subverted, deconstructed troubadour duo Kid Sam.

Their debut self-titled LP has received tremendous support from community radio, being named Triple R album of the week (mid-March) and their first and second singles, 'We’re Mostly Made of Water' and 'Down to the Cemetery' respectively, have been added to Triple J rotation.

They make songs that traverse themes of violence, romance and the politics of the everyday, distilling the history of intelligent song writing within them. Kieran’s fluid and gritty guitar playing is the vehicle for songs that are remarkably well crafted and timeless. The drums are constantly reassessing their shape as Kieran’s rich vocals romance the listener. The result is subtle, subversive folk/rock’n’roll/pop.

However, what makes Kid Sam a genuine talent is simply that they make powerful, truly great Australian songs.

In 2009 they have played gigs Firekites, Kes Band, Jack Ladder, Middle East, Nick Huggins, Teeth and Tongue, Fergus Brown, McKisko, Seagull, Sherlock's Daughter, Otouto, Philadelphia Grand Jury, Milk Teddy, Dick Diver, Where Were You at Lunch, Psuche, John Fox, Young Heretics, Emma Russack and Kirin J. Callinan among others and will soon support Daniel Johnston.

Their debut LP is produced by Nick Huggins, is out now through new Melbourne indie collective Two Bright Lakes and was nominated for a J Award.